Do Not Disturb

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Do Not Disturb.”

When it comes to online privacy, I abide by a very strict rule:

I absolutely  DO NOT do any online banking.

Yes, it is convenient. I know that. For me though, the convenience isn’t worth the risk of my computer being hacked or my bank’s computer being hacked and my personal financial information being compromised. I have two anti-virus programs on my computer. Norton scans weekly, while AVG scans every day warns me whenever there is a security threat.. With any sort of online presence (Facebook, Tumblr, Twitter, Instagram, etc) there is always the potential for personal information to be out there, but I do try to mitigate that risk as much as I possibly can by having my security options on the highest setting. I also am very choosy about what information I share, including what my status updates are, and what tweets I am putting out there.Like I do not put where specifically I live, and I do not put the dates I will be out of town or in the hospital out there. I do not have a foursquare account because I don’t feel like I need to tell people everywhere I am going and when I am there. I feel like that would just make me an easier target, and I am all about not making myself someone else’s target..I also engage in the practice of not giving out my SSN on the telephone. If someone is asking for that over the phone, that’s a huge red flag for me. Believe it or not, that’s not the case for some people.

Leave a Reply

