Daily Prompt: SOS

You’re at the beach, lounging on your towel, when a glistening object at the water’s edge catches your eye. It’s a bottle — and yes, it contains a message. What does it say?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us WATER.

Just by the fact that I am lounging on a towel at the beach in the scenario, says that it’s never gonna happen. For two reasons, actually.

1) Sandy beaches and wheelchairs do not mix. At all. By any stretch of the imagination.

2) I wouldn’t be caught dead lounging on a towel and/or in a bathing suit at a beach.

The latter is just a personal thing. I am much too shy to be caught wearing a bathing suit. I would say, maybe if I weighed 50lbs less, but, no. Not even if I weighed 50lbs less would I be caught in a bathing suit. Some people would say that’s modesty, but I disagree in my case. I’m just shy. I’m even shy in a crowd of people I have known forever, or am related to.

But that’s not the point of this prompt. So, let’s say that I found a bottle with a message in it. The message would say: “The reason most people do not recognize an opportunity when they meet it is because it usually goes around wearing overalls and looking like Hard Work.”

That is one of my favorite quotes. It first appeared unaccredited in the May 18, 1921 issue of Logansport Pharos Tribune. Since, the quote has been commonly attributed to Thomas Edison. To me, that means, if you want something bad enough, you have to put forth the effort to achieve it. If you want a tomato garden, the tomatoes likely are not going to plant themselves. You have to get your gardening tools and tomato plants together to plant them. And then you have to lovingly tend those plants so that they will get bigger and tomatoes can grow on them. Hopes and dreams are a lot like a tomato plant. If you don’t do something to help them flourish, they wither away and die.

Leave a Reply

